Day 1: Once more unto the breach, dear friends, once more;

I am about to undertake, yet again, a push for weight loss. Surprisingly, this has nothing to do with New Year resolutions. It just all seemed to fall into place over the last two months or so. I knew my vacation was no time to start, so I figured I’d begin on the first day back. Tomorrow…

So anyway, back in May of 2003 I wrote the following:

“Weight: 280 BMI: 39.16 Fat: 35-38% The Beginning of the End of my fat ass!

I am 32 years old and have been gaining and losing weight for about 20 of those years. So, for all intensive purposes I have had a weight problem for my adult life. I have tried many diets including Body for Life, Get with the Program, etc. I found that a mix of these ideals is essential for it all to work. Starting today I joined a gym. I find that I will not work out when I am at home and the outdoors are too random. The gym, although costly, will hopefully coerce me to continue. My goals are to be fit for once and for all. As far as a weight, my first goal is 230 lbs by 10/22 (my birthday). My main goal is to reach a body fat between 10 and 20%. To do this I have to lose about 12% of my fat which, based on a guess of 180lb lean mass, means I have to get to roughly 200 lbs. At 1.5 lbs per week I should hit 200-210 lbs by this time next year.”

By August of that year, I was down to 255, but faltered. I managed, over the next five years to get to 239 in 2008, and since then I have maintained about 245, which is where I am today… I actually peaked earlier in 2003 at 287, so my total loss from January (lets say) of 2003 to January 2011 is 42 pounds… I have about the same amount to go to my new goal of 200 by August.

I have a very realistic attitude about all of this. I honestly don’t expect it to happen. Being 40 changed my outlook about the whole deal. So we’ll see. What do I have to lose (other than my gut)…

Diet-wise, my plan is to use a modified Body for Life mixed with some ideas from Tim Ferris’ “4 Hour Body”. I am cutting sugar (fructose and sucrose) out of my 6 day a week diet and keeping the free day. My four meals are 40% protein (tough as a vegetarian), 30% slow carbs and 30% fat. I’m aiming for 75% of my BMR, so just under 2000 calories a day.

Exercise-wise, well, I’m not sure about that right now. It’s definitely a wait and see approach. I think I will continue what has allowed me to maintain this svelte 245 for the past few years. That includes Body Power on Monday, Thursday and Saturday… and Ride (spin class) on Thursday and Saturday. I’d like to work on some HIIT (high intensity interval training, jog 1 min, sprint 15 secs, repeat for 15 mins), but I doubt my knees can take it.

Tracking-wise (let’s just continue the “wise” bit) I’ll attempt to maintain this blog as a sort of diary, I set up an Excel sheet to track a bunch of variables and I’m using a calorie tracker on the iPad (more on this later) to track food and exercise. I’m testing out different ones to see what I like the most. I took pictures, but no one need be sick at this moment. Let’s wait for the updated product shall we.

Anyway, to the few that accidentally trip over this blog, wish me the best.

CM 11.01.02.23.00

This entry was posted in weight loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

